Today, 10 Years Ago, Shady Records Released “Eminem Presents: The Re-Up”



On this day, exactly 10 years ago (December 5, 2006), Shady Records released Eminem Presents: The Re-Up, a hip hop compilation album performed by various artists of Shady Records. The album features performances by Eminem, D12, 50 Cent, Obie Trice, Stat Quo, Bobby Creekwater and Cashis, while affiliated artists such as Lloyd Banks, Akon and Nate Dogg, made guest appearances.


Eminem Presents: The Re-Up debuted at number 2 on US Billboard 200 chart, selling about 309,000 copies in its first week. In its second week, the album fell to number 13 in the Billboard 200, selling 151,000 copies. As of March 16, 2007, the album was certified platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA), for selling one million copies in the United States.


The album debuted into the Top 50 charts in 18 countries including United States, United Kingdom, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Germany, France, Italy, Russia and South Africa.


It went Double Platinum in New Zealand, platinum in Russia and United States and Gold in Australia, South Africa, Sweden and Japan.


Critical response to Eminem Presents: The Re-Up was mixed. At Metacritic, which assigns a normalized rating out of 100 to reviews from mainstream critics, the album has received an average score of 50, based on the 13 reviews.


“You Don’t Know,” which features Eminem, 50 Cent, Lloyd Banks and Cashis, is the lead single and most successful song of the album. It was released in the UK on December 11, 2006. It managed to chart from download sales alone, peaking at #32. The song peaked at #12 on the Billboard Hot 100, becoming the highest debut for a single on this chart for 50 Cent, Lloyd Banks, and Cashis. The song also entered into the top charts in Norway and Ireland.


Support Shady Records and stream the album on Apple Music below: